A Do-It-Yourself Restringing

This was started from last week when I heard a quite loud shocking sound from my guitar bag. Turned out that my fourth string (D string) was broken. No wonder as these strings have been on duty for around four years. Hmm, fourth string, four years, four, fantastic. 😛 Time to retire, dear strings!

But I did not necessarily restring my guitar. At first I was a little bit in doubt about which one to choose, the ball or loop end? The ball-end string is indeed easy to be installed. But then I watched some YouTube videos and decided that the loop-end string seems more challenging.

Just yesterday that I had time for restringing. I went to a nearby store to buy new strings. As usual, my preference is the black nylon strings, with loop end. I bought D’Addario strings, just the same brand which I used previously.

20151002_113748
Front and rear side of D’Addario Pro-Arté EJ-49 black nylon classical guitar strings. R u ready to restring?

With all the knowledge I got from YouTube tutorials, I am ready to restring. First, I loosened my guitar’s tuners and removed the old strings. Then, I opened the new string’s packaging. Inside the paper packaging, there was still a plastic packaging where the real strings could be found.

abc
1 2 3 4 5 6

I continued with slipping each string through the bridge hole. Everything seemed easy until I had to loop the strings. I wanted to loop each of them twice. Tens of minutes spent for messing about the correct and exactly same knot for those six strings. Tightening it up was also uneasy. Strong fingers was needed indeed. At that time, I realised that restringing classical guitar is easier imagined than done.

IMG_0147
Here we go loop de loop…

Happily to have the knots done, I shifted from the bridge to the tuner holes. As mentioned before, this was a literally do-it-yourself restringing. So I tightened it up with my own hand, no tools, tried to be as tidy as I could.

IMG_0145
Looking good  😀

Finally, tuning. Fingers were reddish after fighting with the silver-plated strings. But it’s worth it! Much happiness comes from the crisp sound of the new strings. Let’s see how long they will last…. 😉

Leave a Reply

